“The Barn itself was great, however we had a problem with a great amount of flies, We realise that we were in the countryside and the temperature was above average but it was plain that they have a problem with flies as they supplied us with two fly swatters and notices that they did have pest control to spray the windows from time to time.”
We found it difficult to cook as we could not leave any food uncovered and while eating we were constantly trying to waft away the flies from our food . The flies were crawling over the floors and the kitchen tops even when there was no food present. Consequently we ate out most of the time. It was unfortunate as we were looking forward to this holiday. We vacated the Barn two days early as by this time we had had enough. The kitchen itself in my opinion is tired and could do with a makeover also the oven was not working as it should. Could not and would not recommend this holiday.
We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests so thank you for posting your comments.
We do not specifically have a problem with flies in our cottages, however, flies are commonplace in the countryside as they thrive in wooded areas, crops and on manure left behind by farm animals. During July and August crops are harvested and organic manure is spread on the fields to help grow the next years crop. This does mean that there are often more flies around at this time - this year, the exceptionally hot weather appears to have exacerbated the situation. We completely understand that flies are a nuisance which is why, for the comfort of our guests, we provide as many solutions as possible, for example; fly screens on doors and windows, fly papers, fly swats and spray, fly zappers and we have our windows sprayed by professional pest controllers. We find that normally these help keep the fly numbers down to pretty low levels but we are sorry to hear that you found them such a nuisance.
We are sorry to hear your comment about the kitchen, we haven't previously had any comments about the kitchen being tired, many guests have said how well appointed it is. We will certainly review it and see if it needs attention.
We are also concerned to hear that you had problems with the oven. We would always prefer guests to bring any issues with equipment to our attention during their stay. This gives us the opportunity to check and rectify both for the current guests and for the next guests - if we don't know, we can't sort. I have spoken to the guests that are in the Barn this week to check that the oven is working OK. They said that the controls are a little different to the oven they have at home, but this was easily sorted by checking the oven manual that is in the property folder. They confirm that the oven is working perfectly.
Once again, thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated. Property Owner