Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

Little Beck Cottage

Harleston, Norfolk (Ref. 980479)

4.6

Best Escapes rating

  • 3 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance

* Based on a combined average customer score

Group 2 Created with Sketch.

28 Customer Review(s)

  • Maureen

    “Cottage needs updating , some new furniture and some new bed linen and duvet sets, and all the rising damp needs to be done as it's very bad to the point of health problems , it could be a nice place if some money was spent on it , if you like a good shower it's not here , shower is very very weak and trickles Out and goes from hot to cold, price was cheap at 270.”

    00 for week in November but in my opinion spend more money elsewhere for better comfort, we knocked a couple times on owners cottage next door to say hello but got no answer , when we finally met the owner she said it's nice to finally meet you as I like to know who is partying in my cottage, not sure what that was all about as I'm 61 and my mother 87 and we was away for a quite holiday , she was also telling us she was surprised cottage was booked by sykes to us as she though she closed it ...

    00 for week in November but in my opinion spend more money elsewhere for better comfort, we knocked a couple times on owners cottage next door to say hello but got no answer , when we finally met the owner she said it's nice to finally meet you as I like to know who is partying in my cottage, not sure what that was all about as I'm 61 and my mother 87 and we was away for a quite holiday , she was also telling us she was surprised cottage was booked by sykes to us as she though she closed it for the winter and that it don't pay to rent it in winter as people put the electric heating on , maybe this explained the cobwebs on the walls that had not been cleaned , the remarks also made us feel uncomfortable to put the heating on in the cold weather we was experiencing, could not watch a dvd as could not get dvd player on even changed batteries but still could not get it on , very poor mobile signal and Internet as it states in details , thank good for a bit of easy listening music on my phone before bed , got a few texts from owner before we met her while on holiday to see how we was and one about the leaves on path, we was out every day by 10am visiting different villages , coast and Market towns and got back to the cottage in evening about 8pm , had a great time in Norfolk but would not rent cottage again in it's present condition

    - Maureen, November 2023

    we are sorry you were so disappointed with your stay with us, the cottage is cleaned to COVID standards following each let I did find 1 cobweb on a bedroom window sill after your departure. Naturally the cottage heating is part of the rental and we always make sure of a warm welcome. Regarding the rising damp...there was certainly no sign of any problem prior to your arrival, we did see the paint that had lifted on the left hand side of the french window, which we discovered was caused by a crack in the outside rendering and water had permutated down from that for which we apologise as we had no prior knowledge of this problem. I finally bumped into you on the Thursday and we seemed to have a pleasent conversation, asking if you were comfortable and were there any problems to which you had none apparently.... if we had been informed that there was a problem with the dvd remote we would of course replaced it, the dvd could have been activated using the buttons on the side, there is also a DAB radio and a Amazon dot which both could be used for music. I did let you know that there had been a heavy fall of leaves overnight and that these would be cleared early as we were concerned that your mother may have difficulties walking on them and that we would try not to disturb you both. We have received no prior complaints regarding the shower, decorations or bedding sadly this property would just seemed to have not suited you and we hope you are happier in future. Property Owner

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x single
  • Shower room with a basin and WC
  • Open-plan living room with a kitchen, a dining area and a sitting area with an electric fire.
  • Electric central heating, electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, DVD, DAB radio, WiFi, selection of DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 1 car
  • Lockable storage
  • Patio and gravel with furniture and a BBQ
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Note: Brook running alongside property, children must be supervised when outside
  • Note: Even though the property is mainly on the ground floor, there are a few steps inside and outside the cottage, therefore may not be suitable for the less mobile
  • Note: The TV does not have freeview, it is for watching DVDs on only
  • Note: Mobile phone reception is provider dependent (as in many parts of the country) O2 and Vodafone both have good reception, with EE fluctuating. A wide selection of dvds are provided however you are welcome to watch TV programme's on your own Mobile devices

The property

Little Beck Cottage is a self-contained, ground floor getaway nestled in a beautiful rural location, four miles from the attractive Norfolk town of Harleston. With welcoming open-plan living, this is a splendid return for avid walkers and cyclists to enjoy. Based on the owner's grounds, step up towards this property and into a handy area to hang up your coats and kick off your muddy boots. Step into the spacious open-plan living room and find the cosy sitting area benefiting from a stunning electric fire and a TV with a wide range of DVDs provided by the owner - the perfect night in after an exhausting day of adventure. A modern dining table set for four sits at the side of the room whilst the kitchen area boasts rustic wooden units and the necessary appliances to make use of. Adjacent to this room is the bright and complete the accomodation at The Annex. When the sun comes out, rustle up a delicious BBQ on the patio with the refreshing country air to top it off. Head to nearby Harleston where you will find a selection of wonderful amenities as well as a local museum which is worth a look on a rainy day. The surrounding area offers something for everybody to enjoy, from glorious coastline and breath-taking countryside to the striking city of Norwich. Little Beck Cottage boasts an excellent location for those wishing to explore all that this wondrous region can offer.

View on map

About the location

HARLESTON

Pulham St Mary 3 miles; Bungay 8 miles; Beccles 13 miles; Norwich 19 miles; Southwold 18 miles.

Located on the Norfolk/Suffolk border, Harleston nestles in the beautiful Waveney Valley within easy reach of the Suffolk Heritage Coast and with endless beautiful towns and villages just a short drive away. This friendly town offers ancient inns, charming individual shops, good restaurants and cafes, an art gallery and local museum, and a weekly market. Enjoy antique auctions, country walks from your doorstep, angling and birdwatching. Endless day trips include the Aviation & Steam Train Museums, Castles, Cathedrals, Breweries, Vineyards, the famous Norfolk Broads, and the Sandringham Estate. Nearby Bungay boasts many historic attractions, the ruins of Bigod's Castle, Buttercross, a Spring Garden market, a Summer antiques fair and Christmas Market, attracting many people each year. A 30 minute drive to the fabulous Suffolk coast brings you to magical Southwold with its famous amber shop, and even nearer is the market town of Beccles at the head of the Broads.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas