“The general cleanliness of the lodge lets it down.”
As soon as we got there we found a huge brown stain on the mattress topper, this was sorting the next day with the delivery of a new mattress. Brilliant.
There was stains on the carpet, cobwebs, dead spiders and dead flies, behind the curtains( there was a previous complaint about this)
The en-suite shower had a problem with the u-bend which meant that the shower backed up! Dirty baking tray in the oven, top of the oven hood was disgusting - dust and cobwebs. Blinds dusty, skirting boards dusty.
The lodge is fabulous when walking in, it is not until you have a closer look you start to notice the problems. Would not recommend or return. We had contact with Colin regarding the mattress which he sorted straight away, but why was the bed made when you could see the stain through the sheet? He did offer us £150. which we refused. I was a lot of money for a dirty lodge.
Thanks for your feedback and I apologise that you did not find the lodge up to standard. We had several calls/texts about resolving the issues, with which you were very helpful. We use a Sykes approved cleaning company and the cleaner who had been cleaning the lodge is no longer with the company. There is no excuse for the oven hob etc being dirty; this should have been cleaned and checked between lets as part of the company's protocol, along with the other points you mentioned. I fully agree that the bed should not have been remade as it was. As you saw, when we were made aware of the problem, we replaced the mattress and mattress topper with brand new ones within a couple of hours. The cleaning company spray for flies and clean up after most of them have dropped, but unfortunately you do get some that linger and drop after they have gone. As a general point the carpets were in immaculate condition at the start of the summer so they have clearly been abused and will be replaced as soon as we are able to arrange it.